WhatsApp is obviously revamping its privacy settings, enabling users to disable the “last seen”, “profile photo” and “about” status updates for specific contacts. For now, you can set these to “Everyone”, “My Contacts” or “Nobody”-so that anyone or all of your contacts can see your updates, or no one can see your Update.
This update may benefit people who don’t want to reveal to specific contacts their last activity status, profile picture, or current “About” status but still want others to see them. In contrast, the privacy settings for the group and status feature already provide you the option of not allowing you to view your updates or add you to specific contacts in the group.
In a statement, WhatsApp beta tracker WABetaInfo stated that WhatsApp is revamping privacy settings for the Android and iOS beta versions of WhatsApp. It is said that in addition to everyone, my contacts and no one, the update also introduces a new “except my contacts” option, allowing users to hide their “last seen” from specific contacts “, profile photo, and “About” status.
WABetaInfo revealed a screenshot that displays a new option in the “Last Seen” privacy settings on WhatsApp for iOS. Regardless, the source insists that it also applies to Android users and other privacy settings, including profile photos and about status.
Among other settings, WABetaInfo announces that if users will disable the last seen status of their particular contact, they will not be able to see their last active status on the app. This is comparable to if you prohibit others from accessing your status, you will not be able to see the last active status of other people.
According to reports, WhatsApp is currently testing its updated privacy settings internally, but it will be available to beta testers in a future update. At the time this report was submitted, official details about the test were not yet available.