The social media giant Facebook confirmed the roll-out of ‘Unsend Message’ feature to all users in the future while it’s now official in its Messenger app. The Recall messages feature was made known to us of it’s coming few days ago and today, it is here with us.
Presently, the new Unsend/Recall/Remove for everyone feature is rolling out for all users in Poland, Bolivia, Colombia, and Lithuania Messenger app for both Android and iOS users.
Facebook made it known that the feature will roll out worldwide as soon as possible. This ‘Remove for Everyone’ feature will enable users to delete any kind of message within 10 minutes of sending it. This includes text, group chats, videos, and photos just like that of WhatsApp ‘Delete for everyone’ feature works.
After 10 minutes, you cannot use the ‘Remove for Everyone’ feature, but you can use the ‘Remove for you’ feature which will only delete messages from your end, and not the recipients end.
How To Recall Messages on Facebook Messenger app
To use the Unsend feature, long press the message you want to delete. Options to ‘Remove for Everyone‘ and Remove for You‘ will pop-up on your screen. Selecting any of them will display a warning that says; ‘You’ll permanently remove this message for all chat members. They can see that you removed a message and still report it.”
Once you read the warning and confirm, the message will get deleted, and a tombstone message will replace it that will now read, ‘You removed a message‘.
If the deleted message is related to harassment, Users can also report it even though it was removed by tapping on the person’s name > tapping on Somethings Wrong > and selecting the proper category for report abuse.